Support Austin’s community radio

Today’s show marks the second and final episode of This Great White North during KOOP’s Fall Membership Drive, which means that we need your support to keep Austin’s premier community radio station strong! Justin and Joe the Canucks will be in the studio along with DJ AsuraSunil, bringing you some of the biggest anthems in Canadian indie music and seeking your contribution towards KOOP Radio, which is now in its 25th year of broadcasting the voices and sounds of Austin.

We’ll have three pairs of passes to see Montreal’s Ada Lea, who’ll be opening for Methyl Ethyl next Friday night, indoors at Stubb’s. We’ll also be announcing the winner of KOOP’s drawing for a pair of ACL Festival passes during the show!

Be sure to tune in at 4:30 PM Central on KOOP Radio, 91.7 FM in Austin, Texas and online, worldwide, at to pledge your support!

Playlist: 2019-09-06

Doug and Joe the Canucks hosted our first show of KOOP’s Fall Membership Drive.

4:35Plimsoll PunksAlvvaysAntisocialitesPolyvinyl
4:41StarseedOur Lady PeaceNaveedRelativity
4:51Ocean Pearl54.40Smilin' Buddha CabaretSony Canada
4:55Nautical DisasterThe Tragically HipDay for NightUniversal Canada
5:04Piece of CrapNeil Young & Crazy HorseSleeps with AngelsReprise
5:09Boneyard TreeThe WatchmenIn the TreesMCA Canada
5:18Radio BlasterThrush HermitSmart BombMurderecords
5:22Coax MeSloanTwice RemovedDGC
5:25GirlfriendEric's TripForever AgainSub Pop
5:31It Falls ApartOddsBedbugsZoo Entertainment
5:36Circle of SeasonChange of HeartTummysuckleLunamoth
5:39Don't Sell Hot Dogs TonightThe Leather UppersO.K., Don't Say HiPast It
5:44Hasn't Hit Me YetBlue Rodeo5 Days In JulyWEA
5:52SilverMoistSilverEMI Canada
5:58I Want U 2 Vant MePropagandhiHow to Clean EverythingFat Wreck Chords

Playlist: 2019-08-30

Justin the Canuck hosted the show.

4:33ForeverishThe High DialsForeverishHook & Prayer
4:36Fever BreaksBlack Pistol FireDeadbeat GraffitiRifle Bird
4:40Kamikaze BrainCTZNSHPAll Things to the Sea
4:48Heart In TwoReuben and The DarkArms of a DreamArts & Crafts
4:52PaperweightsThe DetailsLost ArtParliament of Trees
4:56Ode to the PrairiesTreelinesCourage
5:01Long May You RunNeil Young & Stephen StillsDecadeReprise
5:05ArchaeologistsLotus ChildGossip Diet
5:09Fell In Love with New YorkThe ZolasWino OracleLight Organ
5:16Mr. No ShowGhostkeeperAnd the Children of the Great Northern MuskegSaved by Radio
5:19Sweet Talk, Sweet TalkThe New PornographersTogetherLast Gang
5:23Construction WorkRival BoysLife of Worry
5:29Royal VarietyHarlan PepperYoung and Old
5:33GoldWake OwlWild CountryVagrant
5:36Bigger Than LuckThe FugitivesEverything Will HappenLight Organ
5:41Such a DrainSurf DadsLong WeekendGrind Central
5:44Bathed In LightThe Dirty NilMaster VolumeDine Alone
5:47Pain of InfinityThe Dirty NilMaster VolumeDine Alone
5:50Northern DialectsLaureateLandmarksJump Start
5:57Baby, We Could Do Long DistancePrepare for the FutureSummer Fling

Playlist: 2019-08-23

Doug and Joe the Canucks hosted the show.

4:33Louder Than the BoysThe MandatesDead In the FaceTeenage Rampage
4:39There and GoneTerritoriesTerritoriesPirate's Press
4:46Don't Walk Away EileenSam RobertsThe Inhuman ConditionMapleMusic
4:49Love You All54.40Trusted by MillionsColumbia Canada
4:54Rock HouseThe RowdymenRubberneckin'Transistor 66
5:00OhioCrosby, Stills, Nash & Young DecadeWarner Brothers
5:03How I've BeenGold FinchForlorn
5:06Bare HandsPUPMorbid StuffLittle Dipper
5:11Sunny Summer DaySpeedbuggySods & Odds
5:14HawaiiNo JoyGhost BlondeMexican Summer
5:16She Refused to StayLOVINGLOVING
5:20Before We ArriveThe Meligrove BandLet It GrowDuctape
5:27Go2BedMouth BreatherListerine Dream
5:30Vagabond RomanceGleanerVagabond Romance
5:33Slam Dunk DreamSlam DunkIn Hell
5:38I'm Gonna Live ForeverDadweedKingfisher Bluez
5:42Fool's GoldAlimonyReleaseAlarum
5:44Naive MemoriesMatch FactoryNaive Memories
5:47One That You WantSorry GirlsArbutus
5:50Dormez-vousKristin WitkoZone of ExclusionKingfisher Bluez
5:55Wear SunscreenPeach PyramidOscar St.
5:58Every Flower I SeeYoung GuvGUV IRun for Cover

Playlist: 2019-08-16

Justin the Canuck hosted the show.

4:32Falling Down the Stairs of Your SmileThe New PornographersIn the Morse Code of Brake LightsConcord
4:36A Flower That Wouldn't BloomAncient ShapesA Flower That Wouldn't BloomYou've Changed
4:38Just the Same as AlwaysLaura BarrettWho Is the Baker?Paper Bag
4:41Mew Mew MansionJim Guthrie & J.J. IpsenCat Lady
4:44Garbage NightMaple TreewayPuking
4:48A Spark from the SocketBrutal Poodle
4:51SunLaughed the BoyChange of Scenery
4:55New HazeMIMICOHi-ActionHand Drawn Dracula
5:03Take Me HomeHarlequin Gold
5:05Last RuinsWake Island
5:09WastecaseTom Boy
5:19Feelings In the AshtrayThe Same as Always
5:22Try My BestAlone I WalkAnchor Eighty Four
5:25FebruaryWayfarerReckless Spring
5:31VampireMaunoReally WellTin Angel
5:33InnocentWeather BoySummer Forever: Mixtape IIILootBag
5:38The World Is Not EndingPrepare for the FutureNice Work!
5:41Running from SomethingThe Silkstones
5:44Then AgainHalf Moon RunGlassnote
5:48Aves noirSecret SignSummer Forever: Mixtape IIILootBag
5:53New BoyTearjerkerFadedAlmost Communist
5:58I DoWild RiversNettwerk