We’re on hiatus, eh?

After 16 years on the air and after nine years of hosting the show, This Great White North is officially on hiatus. It’s sad, but necessary—I’ll be taking a much-needed break to catch up on sleep and all the other things in life that aren’t producing a weekly radio show.

If you’re a Canadian artist, thanks for making such incredible music—it’s been an honor to share it. If you’re a listener, thanks for tuning in—what a delight to have gotten to share nine years of music with y’all! In time, maybe I’ll do it again, in one form or another.

Our Mixcloud page will continue hosting our final six episodes for the foreseeable future, if you’d like to listen to them again. This website isn’t going anywhere, although no updates are planned in the immediate future, and our show calendar will remain frozen in time. Our social media will probably stick around in a dormant state.

Please continue supporting KOOP, keep your ears open to new music from the north, and of course… keep it weird, Austin.

Justin the Canuck

Playlist: 2022-05-27

Host Justin the Canuck recorded this episode in his home studio.

4:31Lovely AllenHoly FuckLPYoung Turks
4:35I Feel the TransitionThe ZolasCome Back to LifeLight Organ
4:40The Buzz In My FleshYoung GalaxyYG No Art EP
4:43Monkey TreeMother MotherVery Good Bad ThingUniversal
4:48It's OkayLand of TalkSome Are LakesSaddle Creek
4:53Roller CoasterThe LiptoniansLet's All March Back Into the SeaHead In the Sand
4:57I'm Not Your Lover (Live at the Troubadour)Leif VollebekkNew Waves (Live Recordings '19-'21)Secret City
5:02Forget (Friendly)GulferGulferTopshelf
5:05Are We Really Happy With Who We Are Right Now?MoneenAre We Really Happy With Who We Are Right Now?Smallman
5:10Bathed In LightThe Dirty NilMaster VolumeDine Alone
5:13GhostsRah RahBreaking HeartsYoung Soul
5:17Born to RuinWildlifeOn the HeartWax
5:21Speaking Off the RecordHotel MiraPerfectionismLight Organ
5:25Ransom the SunsetBass LionsMore Than IslandsNevado
5:28DreamHey Rosetta!Second SightSonic
5:32Elevator Love LetterStarsHeartPaper Bag
5:36Better Than YouPrepare for the FutureNice Work!
5:39Where I LivePrepare for the FutureNice Work!
5:44You & What Army?ParkasPut Your Head In the Lion's MouthSaved By Radio
5:48You're the LeaderRuby CoastSeven Wonders
5:52Gilded AgeFemBotsThe CityPaper Bag
5:56A New Name for EverythingThe WeakerthansReconstruction SiteEpitaph

#1: I Feel the Transition

We’ll end where it all began, with Winnipeg band The Weakerthans. Image: Punknews.org

Well, this is it. After 16 years of bringing the finest and freshest independent Canadian music to Texas on KOOP Radio, we’ve got just one show left before we officially go on hiatus. There’s no more holding back—only the best of the best get featured on a show this momentous. This week, we ride off into the Canadian sunset spinning our favorites by Bass Lions, The Dirty Nil, FemBots, Gulfer, Hey Rosetta!, Holy Fuck, Hotel Mira, Land of Talk, Leif Vollebekk, The Liptonians, Moneen, Mother Mother, Parkas, Prepare for the Future, Rah Rah, Ruby Coast, Stars, The Weakerthans, Wildlife, Young Galaxy, and The Zolas.

Join Justin the Canuck one last time, this Friday at 4:30 PM Central on KOOP Radio, 91.7 FM in Austin, Texas and broadcasting to the world at KOOP.org!

Playlist: 2022-05-20

Host Justin the Canuck recorded this episode in his home studio.

4:33LettermanGay NinetiesLiberal GuiltLove Letter
4:36Psychic Guys With Plastic BagsWizaardFilthy Haanz
4:39Oh You, Old ThingWolf ParadeExpo 86Sub Pop
4:49Raw SugarMetricGrow Up and Blow AwayLast Gang
4:52Ghost IIRococodeGuns, Sex & GloryHead In the Sand
4:53Sally On the AvenueSleepy GonzalesSlow ApocalypseLight Organ
5:00HomegrownNeil YoungAmerican Stars 'N BarsReprise
5:03Election DayThe Long Distance RunnersTracks
5:06The Late King HenryThe Wooden SkyIf I Don't Come Home You'll Know I'm GoneBlack Box
5:10Come Back to the EarthPaper LionsStay Together
5:13St. CeciliaEllevatorEllevatorArts & Crafts
5:16Thunder EastOuter RoomsAll Will Be Well & All Will Be Well, etc., etc.Genuine Friends
5:21Blue Skies / SunshineSeasFade Out Into the NightBlack Box
5:24In Your LightBruce PeninsulaOpen FlamesHand Drawn Dracula
5:28Out of LuckCamaromanceThe Parade
5:32Desire 126HolleradoWhite PaintRoyal Mountain
5:35Summercamp vs. The Fake Moustache TreeBoats!Cannonballs, CannonballsKill Rock Stars
5:41Medicine ShowsWool on WolvesMeasures of ProgressMapleMusic
5:46AnimalThe Pack a.d.Do Not EngageNettwerk
5:50Light You UpThe Mohawk LodgeDamaged GoodsWhite Whale
5:52Guns + AmmunitionJuly TalkJuly Talk (Extended Version)Sleepless
5:56Kathy's BiblePaul JacobsPink Dogs On the Green GrassBlow the Fuse

#2: Grow Up and Blow Away

We’ve got a Metric ton of great songs this week. Image: Capital Gazette

Could it really be—only two shows left? After 16 years, it almost doesn’t feel real to be calling it quits. Alas, the end is nigh—as are more of our faves from the past decade-and-a-half! This week, we’ve got tracks by Boats!, Bruce Peninsula, Camaromance, Ellevator, Gay Nineties, GRAE, Hollerado, July Talk, The Long Distance Runners, Metric, The Mohawk Lodge, Outer Rooms, The Pack a.d., Paper Lions, Paul Jacobs, Rococode, Seas, Sleepy Gonzales, Wizaard, Wolf Parade, The Wooden Sky, Wool on Wolves, and—wait for it—one last Neil Young Song of the Week, at five o’clock!

Join Justin the Canuck Friday at 4:30 PM Central on KOOP Radio, 91.7 FM in Austin, Texas and broadcasting to the world at KOOP.org!