New Stars, Weaves, and more

We’ve got the latest from Toronto’s Stars. Image: Shervin Lainez via NPR

Join Justin the Canuck today at 4:30 PM Central for this week’s episode of This Great White North!

We’ve got brand new music from several Canadian artists, like Stars, Weaves, The Barr Brothers, Jasper Sloan Yip, and Vic Horvath! We’ll also be featuring some of our favorites by bands like CTZNSHP, Dralms, Forest City Lovers, Girl Meets Bear, Hot Springs, King Cobb Steelie, Nap Eyes, The Neins Circa, Ox, Parlour Steps, and The Ruffled Feathers. We’ll even dig deep into the catalog for oldies by Hot Hot Heat and—because, really, why not?—Our Lady Peace.

Ain’t no ticket giveaways, ain’t no fancy themes… just great Canadian music, new and old. Tune in today on 91.7 FM in Austin or online, anywhere in the world, at!

Win tickets to see Ought!

We’ve got tickets to see Montreal musicians Ought! Photo: Colin Medley

We’ve got two pairs of tickets to see Ought when they play next Friday at Stubb’s, and we’ll be giving them away on today’s show!

Ought is just one of many Canadian artists visiting Austin in the coming weeks, and we’ll feature a dozen of them on the show this week, including Arcade Fire, BADBADNOTGOOD, Black Pistol Fire, Charlotte Cardin, Corb Lund, The Courtneys, Crystal Castles, Land of Talk, LIGHTS, Mac DeMarco, and Wolf Parade.

Join Justin the Canuck today at 4:30 PM Central on KOOP Radio for the show!

KOOP Radio needs your support!

This week is our third and final show of KOOP’s Fall Membership Drive. Both Canucks will be in the studio along with DJ AsuraSunil, and we’ll be looking for your support as we press into the end of the drive—we’ve got one weekend left to reach our goal of $100,000 to support homegrown, independent community radio in Austin!

In addition to our favorite Canadian indie artists and the Neil Young Song of the Week, one lucky KOOP supporter will receive a pair of tickets to see Tei Shi when she performs next week at Stubb’s!

We ask for your support only twice a year, but those two membership drives are what keep us on the air, bringing you the latest and greatest independent Canadian music every week, for over twelve years now. If our 90 minutes of music brings some joy to your Fridays—and if you appreciate the fiercely independent, intensely local, community-driven news, commentary, and music that KOOP has been offering for over 20 years—we need your support to keep it on the air!

Please consider becoming a member of KOOP today—in addition to our limited-edition KOOP T-shirt and other gifts, you’ll be sustaining America’s only radio show dedicated to independent Canadian music, and the entirety of KOOP and its contributions to the Austin community. Give our friendly volunteers a call during the show (Friday, 4:30–6:00 PM Central) at 512 472-KOOP (5667) to pledge your support or donate online, anytime, at

New Canadian music for your Friday

Girl Meets Bear is just one of several bands new to the show this week. Image: CrowQuill Productions

This week, we’re bringing you another show filled to the brim with brand new Canadian music—so new, in fact, that more than half of the tracks are by artists we’d never even heard of before this week. Yeah—that new.

Just who are these mysterious new bands? Try on these for size: Fonfur, Girl Meets Bear, Ivory Waves, Moon Logic, Mundy’s Bay, Municipality, No Aloha, No Goods, Preston, and The Silkstones. But, that’s not all—we’ve also got new tracks by bands we’ve featured on the show at least once before, such as Adam Strangler, The Belle Game, Chad VanGaalen, Hooded Fang, Mise en Scene, Said the Whale, and Whitehorse.

We’ll round it out with #91 on the Rolling Stone list of the Top 100 Neil Young songs of all time, which is “Love to Burn” from Neil’s album Ragged Glory.

Join Justin the Canuck today—Friday—at 4:30 PM Central for 90 minutes of Canadian music! Tune in on KOOP Radio, 91.7 FM in Austin, TX and broadcasting to the world at!

(Mostly) new Canadian releases!

Pro tip: don’t try image-searching for Busty and the Bass at work. Source: Feldman Agency

Who needs a theme? We don’t. On this week’s show, we’re just playing a bunch of (mostly) new Canadian music that spans the genres: from funk to emo, lo-fi garage rock to francophone psychedelia (is that phrancodelia?), and even more in between.

We’ve got a slew of bands never before played on the show, like Dead Beat Poet Society, Emily In the Headlights, Fake Buildings, Gary’s House, and Rose Fargo, plus a listener request for Busty and the Bass. We’ll meander to Montreal for some Peter Peter, then take a listen to upcoming releases by Lost Cousins, Mister Heavenly, and Wolf Parade. Also mixed in will be tracks by Betrayers, Evening Hymns, Land of Talk, Louise Burns, Rival Boys, Silverstein, Stars, and That’s the Spirit. Plus, we’re reaching the end of our Neil Young countdown—this week, we bring you #89 on the list, which comes from 1989’s Freedom.

Join Justin the Canuck today—Friday—at 4:30 PM Central for 90 minutes of Canadian music! Tune in on KOOP Radio, 91.7 FM in Austin, TX and broadcasting to the world at!